'Angela'

‘Angela’

Retracing the living, breathing steps that brought my art to today’s moment happens if I look back at earlier drawings like ‘Angela’. Then today the lyrical fragment, “filling up, spilling over, like an endless waterfall,” takes over my mind.

Easily I find the identity of this old song and the singer: Cris Williamson singing her hit from the 1975 album. This verse seems to say it best:
. . . . . .
When you open up your life to the living
All things come spilling in on you
And you’re flowing like a river
the Changer and the Changed
You’ve got to spill some over
Spill some over
Spill some over
Over all

Filling up and spilling over
It’s an endless waterfall
Filling up and spilling over
Over all
. . . . . .
*The Changer and the Changed album, Cris Williamson: Waterfall, first released 1975.

In 2011, I was in recovery from a long, dark night of body and soul and feeling new hope. The downside was, also petrified that my earlier painting subject-and-method, my rock for 10 years and more, was slipping away. How was I to go on getting well without my maritime painting?

So for a while I did little in the way of art, miserable about it, but also too scared to force myself. I lacked concentration or calm. I lacked focus or drive.

But a whim took me to an open studio for portrait drawing, and I brought the only medium I trusted myself with at the time, a drawing pencil and a piece of paper. Talk about back to the basics.I did come back weekly for the pleasure of another sitting by yet another model. Usually mental exhaustion kept me on a 90-minute schedule start to finish.

Was Angela was the first? Rather I think she was

    the first who engaged my emotions.

With a warm self-assurance she opened herself to our stares. Suddenly I was having a whale of a time! Probably that shows in this primitive but enthusiastic drawing. Now for me, “it’s an endless waterfall.”

