Image

‘Mercedes’ by Carol Lois Hayowod

Happy to share ‘Mercedes’, local artist and subject of my latest pastel 9×12 sketch.

If you haven’t noticed, human subjects with some mileage on them are definitely my preference. That said, this woman seems to me to have taken in a lot without much outer damage.

Having also been a professional dancer, she may have worked doubly hard, to care for her looks and her health.

Doing portraits is thrilling to me! Yet it’s true, often my subjects suffer a lot from the posing or boredom.

My usual ploy is to interview them while I work. Even if I “know” them already, I  find new lines of query that promise diversion for a while. And I do love the light that comes on behind the face when they realize I really want to know them better–this session is not just about me.

