'Girl' after Vermeer

‘Girl’ after Vermeer

'Girl' after Vermeer

‘Girl’ after Vermeer

'Girl. . .' after Vermeer

‘Girl. . .’ after Vermeer


Challenged by this assignment in current Portrait Painting Class with Bob Schick: copy Vermeer‘s “Girl with a Pearl Earring” in graphite on a 6-8″ scale. We are preparing to paint a full-color copy at 16×20″ scale over the next two class sessions. I love learning the traditional Western portrait process from this instructor. . .While my drawing and photo have distorted the image somewhat, I decided that Vermeer made the eye on the left the dominant one. An important issue in a portrait. . . So, What do you think? Why do you think he made this choice?
. . .Project, Stage Two. Early stage in my traditional grisaille (monochrome) treatment, in pastel on paper board. More definition needed (even in the eyes) before this is done. Excuse the unfinished state please. By posting I hope to urge myself forward today to finish the monochrome underpainting.
. . .At last perhaps the monochrome or gray pastel version is done. I admit I have left her headwrap quite rough, expecting to finish that better in the color version to come. Also left off my signature. . . .So, would you be able to use this as a value guide for a final painting that looks like Vermeer’s ‘Girl’? Your feedback of any kind welcome.–Carol

