For your enhanced pleasure!

The Milkman Goes To College

So there we were at the entrance to the exhibition at the National Gallery when the Management looked up at the sign. “Hang on!” she says. “This is an exhibition of portraits. You hate portraits! I have to drag you kicking and screaming into the National Portrait Gallery!”

True, I am very reluctant to go into the National Portrait Gallery, and true I do ask where the National Landscape Gallery and the National Still Life Gallery are, and true I hate the current vogue for celebrity of which I feel ‘a portrait of …’ rather than ‘a portrait by …’ is one aspect. I recently saw an exhibition of portraits by Jonathan Yeo at the Lowry at Salford Quays and, while I enjoyed his style, I still felt it was ‘portraits of’ rather than ‘portraits by’. However, I do like the work of certain artists and if the paintings happen to…

View original post 1,111 more words

