'Fran as a Hippie'

‘Fran as a Hippie’

Under the influence of William L Maughan, contemporary regional art teacher, about three years ago I took up the chiaroscuro method, using masses of light and shadow to portray human personality.
Reading Barbara Ehrlich White’s book, Impressionists: Side by Side, pushed me to follow the habits of these artists, who painted one another often!

So I started a series of artist portraits. This particular subject, my friend Frances Fisher, is a skilled landscape painter, whom I have drawn several times lately. Using the simple means of white and carmine pastel on warm-gray paper frees me to pursue my two main motives. Achieving a likeness and expressing a bit of the human spirit–as it touches me in our moment in the studio together–these move me to make art!

