facetoworldcopy Delighted to report that my next Laura Cumming art book is about famous artists’ self portraits. Each featured self-portrait is treated separately, so you get a series of mostly short essays to digest, enjoyable to dip into when you have a few minutes free. If you have done a self-portrait or just wondered why someone would try, you will find plenty to grab your attention and stimulate your art appetite. I certainly have. This format means that I learned something about the lives of artists about whom I knew nothing before, in an appealing approach that kept my interest. Others like Rembrandt, whose life I already knew a lot about, are explored by Cumming in great depth: what makes his self-portraits so good, that you keep returning to look at each one again. I recommend Face to World by Laura Cumming very highly. (Check out my previous book recommendation, The Vanishing Velasquez by Laura Cumming, in the previous post.)

